Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my 300 about a week ago. I have yet to bring it home. The roads are extremely salty and for all intents and purposes its still winter here.:( I'm just trying to find some info on battery tender installations to make me a little more comfortable bringing it home and letting it sit for another month or so. Do I have to remove fairings? Is there a way to set it up so that all I have to do is plug it in on these remaining freezing nights? I'm a noob. This is my first bike. I'm just looking for a good install step by step.

·
Registered
392 Posts
On my old bike it was routed from the battery to under the back seat where the connectors lived. I would take off my rear seat when i park it in my garage and plug it in and leave it over night.

I used this model: http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender-021-0128-Plus-Charger/dp/B00068XCQU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364574517&sr=8-1&keywords=battery+tender+plus+charger

It may be over kill and you could probably get away with using the "junior" version of this and its maybe 10 bucks less. I just went for the nicer one. I would probably atleast once a week start it up still and let it warm up to keep all the liquids in the bike circulated.

Reactions: Shields

·
Registered
3,516 Posts
The dealership routed the leads for a battery tender/charger free of charge and without asking. The leads come out down under the rear seat and out to the right side of the bike and are wrapped around near the rear passenger foot pegs. It's a pretty convenient location and allows me to plug a tender in without having to remove fairings or the rear seat. I just need to get a tender/charger and live in a place that actually needs it. Never leave the bike alone long enough to really need it.

·
Registered
38 Posts