Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Once again, I'm a noob and this is my first bike. I'm still having licensing issues (joys of the military), so the bike has been sitting in the friggin garage for the last couple of days. I've started it about 5 times and let it run for a few minutes each time, but later in the evening - probably 5 or 6 hours after running - the tank makes an audible, short high pitch whistling sound about every 3 minutes. It stops once i pop the tank. Is this an issue or is it normal? I know pressure has to be released from the tank from time to time, but i figured this wouldn't be an issue as it doesn't even have a mile on it.

·
Registered
958 Posts
Perfectly normal. My 250r and 650r did the same thing. No, you do not have to release any pressure. It can't hurt a thing. It could be worse. The Vespa makes groaning sounds. It's the evaporation system equalizing pressure between the gas tank and outside air through the carbon canister. Where they don't have polution control equipment, there are no gas tank noises. Just leave your gas cap closed. It can't hurt anything.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Its crying cause you have the new bike next to it....its jeleous:D
Hahahahahaa! You just made me laugh out loud in my class. So embarrassing!

Just got back from a 350km ride and myn has been crying for me to get back on her every few minutes, for a couple hours now, I opened up the tank to try to release any pressure still in there, didn't solve the problem!!
Releasing the pressure by popping the top doesn't always help it. The pressure won't always reach an equilibrium point after 10 seconds.

·
Registered
2,760 Posts