Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone

I'm new to the bike world. But something that I have been encountering when I'm riding is when I'm slowing down and downshifting to a point where I make a stop and go. My bike sometimes doesn't want to shift to first. Like if I press down I don't feel the click to go into first. It's like stuck in second not even in neutral.

Other times if I'm taking off and shift from 1st to second, while I'm pulling up. It shift to neutral, but not sure if that's just my error for not pulling hi enough to get out of or pass neutral into second. I wonder if theirs an adjustment for that.

Has anyone encounter something similar like this?

·
Registered
523 Posts
Some other people have been having some shifting issues with the bike, but they all seem to either be related to the rider's particular shifting motion or to an apparent break-in period for the transmission. How many miles do you have on the bike?

·
Registered
865 Posts
I have that same issue, I attest it partly to that safety thing the 300 has where from a stop you can shift up to second, only neutral or 1'st..

Doing a stop and go, sometimes your goign to slow for the computer to sense that your moving, or the computer just is too slow to realize it, and stops you from gogin to second, shifting you then to neutral..

But shift firmly and that will help a lot and avoid shifting into second at too low of speeds/rpm's

·
Registered
23 Posts
I have to same issue and I don't know what to think of it.. It happens almost randomly for me. I was slowing down to do a right on red and was about to stop but I saw the chance to go so I took it and at that same moment a truck decided to bust a u-turn in the opposite of the lane I was entering. I freaked, tried to throw it into second and what did it do? It went straight to neutral. Luckily he heard the high revs and stopped.. I was Sweating bullets.. Not doing that again