Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to riding a motorcycle. I've never ridden one in my life. I'm now scheduled to take the MSF course next weekend and am excited about it. It's something I've wanted to do for a long time, and I'm finally making it happen.

But, what is really, reaaaaaaaaaally starting to chap my ass is every time someone who rides asks what kind of bike I'm getting and I say, "...a Ninja 300", the response is more often than not, "Get a bigger bike! That's not enough." Dubya tee eff!

Seriously, I've done my research. I've done my asking around. I've done my soul searching on how I want to learn to ride a friggin' motorcycle. I've compared bikes. I've reasoned with myself for a long time now on this topic and I've made an educated decision rather than a halfway thought out one. I want to learn to actually ride properly and to be safe. I don't want to just gun it and muscle my way around town beating out traffic with just the twist of my wrist until one day I make a fatal mistake and get myself killed from my own stupidity. If something happens and I die from this, I want it to be because of something that was outside of my control, not something that I earned on my own, lol. And, it's not like I said I'm planning on getting a Vespa or some other type of scooter! But, even those that ride those things...if that's what you enjoy, then by all means do your thing.

I can almost guarantee that none of these people have read a SINGLE article on the 300. Most of them probably don't even know that a Ninja 300 even exists, much less what it's capabilities are. They always say, "I learned on a 500, 600, 1,000 CC bike - you'll be bored of the 300 in 6 months." All I really want to say is "Good for you, bro." But, instead...I school them on all sorts of wonderful facts: