Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys,

Nice forum !! Happy to be a member and learn from all of you.

I am 35 years old from San Diego CA, a complete noob, have only ridden bikes a couple of times in my life and always wanted one.
I do a lot of HPDE / track days in my 95 M3 but I don't think that will help me much when it comes to learning to ride properly and safely.
I will be taking the MSF course next month before pulling the trigger on the bike purchase.

I need help choosing the right bike for me, something that can be easy to learn on, forgiving and not try to kill me everytime I make a mistake
I also would like to stay below or close to $5K, cheap insurance, good commuter and preferably sports bike looks

Here are my choices so far sorted by price:
1) Honda CBR250R
2) Kawasaki Ninja 300 (my preference)
3) Honda CB500F

I think the Ninja is the perfect compromise in every aspect. My only gripe is that I hate the Lime Green color and I want ABS.

Please help me choose the right bike, and tell me as a complete noob, whether ABS will add real safety or whether it's a gimmick
I do not intend to ride in the rain if I can help it.
Also, what are the differences between the SE and the base 300 other than the color and ABS? Do you get the slipper clutch on the base bike? Are the brakes the same?
I have read conflicting answers to these questions.

Thank you all, and again happy to be a member and hopefully proud Ninja owner soon :D

·
Registered
993 Posts
You could always have it painted....or paint it yourself like I did....

·
Registered
3,516 Posts
First of all. Welcome to the forums. Second of all, the green really grows on ya :D.

Good on ya for taking this conservatively though. Many new riders jump onto too much bike right out of the gate, have a bad experience and are killed, maimed, or just have the crap scared out of them and quit riding.