Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started riding bikes and I'm having trouble with downshifting and rev matching...

Does it hurt the bike if for example I am in 4th gear going to stop at a red light and I just let off the throttle, pull in the clutch, then just down shift all the way to 1st gear then come to a complete stop?

Also whats the point of downshifting? Can't I just cruise around in 5th gear then when ever I need to slow down just put on breaks and slow down but not come to a complete stop, then when I need to go faster I can just give it gas?

Last question:
Does it hurt the bike if I downshift and don't rev match? Before I have been letting off throttle, pull in clutch, down shift, release clutch slowly, then my bike jerks, then I give it gas... What happens if I did that at high speeds?

·
Registered
958 Posts
It doesn't hurt the bike to pull in the clutch, shift down through the gears as you brake till your stopped. If you downshift and release the clutch while going too fast, the slipper clutch will keep you from locking up the rear wheel (that's what it's for). As for WHY you'd want to downshift? If say your coming up to a corner and your in 4 gear, you probably want to downshift to 3rd or 2nd to go through the corner so you can roll on the throttle as your going through the corner, then shift up when your back in the strait. You basically want to match your gear with your speed, keeping the rpm's in the 4000 to 8000 rpm range for cruising around town. If your in too high a gear for your speed, you'll "lug" the engine and the bike will go really slow and not perform as it should. Hope this helps :D

Reactions: LakeeShow310

·
Registered
993 Posts