Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Premium Member
867 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Weather permitting, I'm planning on taking my bike from Southern California to Northern California in early April. 430 miles from Palmdale to Grass Valley to be exact. Even though I've been on and off of street bikes for 20 plus years I've never done a road trip of any distance.

Going up north to celebrate with my twin nieces for their 30th birthday and my 50th birthday since we are only four days apart and they are both "milestone" occasions. Cool for them, Boooooo for me :p

Since I just started riding again after a ten or so year hiatus I need to gear up. I have a tail bag designed to hold a helmet and then some, pretty decent volume. I plan to buy at the very least a good backpack and at the very most a tank bag. Aside from having a bit of cargo space for a weekend of clothing, what would you consider as essential for a 400+ mile ride on a bike in an afternoon? From riding gear to taking breaks along the way? From the seemingly obvious to the most obscure? Don't forget to include FOOD ;)

This is what I have right now for apparel:

Pants: Sedici Alexi 3
http://www.cyclegear.com/eng/product/sedici_alexi_3_season_mesh_motorcycle_pants/web1011685

Boots: Sedici Lorenzo
http://www.cyclegear.com/eng/product/sedici_lorenzo_waterproof_leather_motorcycle_boots/web1006288

Jacket: Fieldsheer Crossroads
http://www.bertsmegamall.com/eshopprod_cat_8015-64085_prodtree_f2-024-02151-013318_product_1262255.FIELDSHEER_CROSSROADSJACKET.htm

Gloves: Alpinestars ST-1 Drystar
http://www.alpinestars.com/st-1-drystar-gloves.html#.UTq7ejAWK9E

I think they will serve me well enough but you never know. You can plan all you like but mother nature and your fellow traveler always have something up their sleeve...

Share your long distance wisdom and anecdotes and maybe we can all learn a bit from this thread...

Thanks...

·
Premium Member
867 Posts
Discussion Starter #3