Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 2014 track bike. There's an oil leak coming from between the water pump and the oil pan. I've replaced the seal that goes in that location twice thus far, and it still drips about 2 drops per day as it sits in the garage.

I'm reading something about a weep hole and some other seal that could be bad? I'm not very good at all this stuff, so I'm hoping to get some assistance.

When I bought this bike it needed a lot of work as it turned out... I won't go into details, but all of the water pump seals were changed. That doesn't mean one still couldn't be the problem though? I don't know. I'm attaching pictures of the leak.

Attachments

· Registered
401 Posts
Yeah man that absolutely looks like a water pump mechanical seal failure. I made a thread a short while back - I just replaced my water pump. I initially wanted to rebuild the pump, put fresh seals. But it turns out that there is one seal you unfortunately can't buy, and it's super dumb. So I just bought a whole new pump and installed it, and it works great. Mine was leaking coolant from the weep hole, not oil, but either could come out. The main mechanical seal prevents oil and coolant from mixing.

I recommend getting a new water pump, and then you separately have to buy the main pump mounting O ring. Your red ink on the parts diagram blocks it, but I think the part number there is 92055A for that large O ring. Get a whole water pump and that seal, and new seals for the hard coolant lines that go into the water pump. I believe in that diagram they are 670 and 670A. Get a bunch of both of those, they wear out easy and go on multiple places on the bike.

Hope this helps. My water pump mechanical seal gave out at 55k miles, so you could expect similar numbers as long as you change your fluids regularly.

-Mike

· Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)