Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this too much oil?

It’s right where the top of the window ends, so a little over the max line. I bought the bike a week ago and this is how it came- the seller assured me this is where it should be. The manually obvious says differently which I just decided to heed tonight. The bike has seen a decline in performance since I bought it last Friday- engine seems like it’s working too hard while climbing gears at 7 to 8,000 rpms and sometimes will be rev very briefly while hard accelerating as if the clutch were disengaged when it isn’t. Could this be related to there being too much oil? Have I destroyed the engine in a week? I ride it pretty hard and have definitely made some clutching mistakes as I’m a beginner that have undoubtedly been hard on the engine, but nothing insanely bad. I love this bike to no end. This is slightly killing me.

Attachments

·
Registered
309 Posts
Make sure you've checked it properly.

Engine warm, wait 3 min, balanced vertical. Should be between the marks at that time.

If not, get a length of clear hose and siphon some from the oil fill until it's between the marks.

If it is indeed too high, you may have pumped excessive oil into airbox - so check the inside and the filter element.

·
Registered
106 Posts
My advice: Stop riding the moto. It is sick. Drain the oil. It looks very light in color. Give it the smell test: does it stink like gasoline? You may have fuel mixed in due to a faulty injector, worn rings, overly rich fuel mixture or another reason. A crankcase that full of oil is going to cause the bike to run poorly. You can google the answers to your question about why. Refill the crankase w/new oil to the correct level. Give a test ride and keep an eye on the oil level for a few days. Good luck! I hope there is a simple fix and the bike gets healthy again.

·
Registered
251 Posts