Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellow riders,

New member here. Just purchased my second bike. New to the mods so I'm still learning. I've read a lot of good threads on here about what mods are favorites to do first, etc. I know that every mod is a personal preference, but what about the important things.

After reading many threads about beginner mods I saw where several members posted things they did first, such as EBC HH Sintered-Metal Brake Pads and Yoshimura Chassis Protectors, to name a few.

My question is, are there things that you would recommend should be done first to the bike. I'm thinking along the lines of K&N oil/air filter replacements, and other maintenance to prolong bike life or to have a better ride. I live on the beach, so I won't be doing much canyon or mountain riding. I'll have sand and water to deal with.

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Don't get the yoshi sliders. They fail and destroy your fairings. Gear is first on my list. Then brakes. Everything else is preference.

·
Premium Member
400 Posts
I just put Yoshi's on as I have ABS, fail or not my leg will thank me if they impact before it does :)

·
Registered
958 Posts
The first thing you should to is get a complete set of gear, your body is the one thing that can't be replaced. I have a set of leathers for riding in the canyons and some textile and kevlar gear for around town and going places.

Second is new tires, the stock tires suck, plain and simple. The tires are your connection to the road, and good tires will keep you safe and increase the performance capability of the bike.

Third is perhaps frame sliders and perhaps swing arm/fork/bar end sliders in case you go down to limit the damage to the bike.

Everything else is personal preference for the type of riding your doing and your personal taste.

·
Premium Member
4,652 Posts