Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says, I’m getting a knocking sound that goes with the speed of the bike when coming to or leaving a full stop on the bike. I don’t know much about maintenance as I’m still learning but here are all the details:
•2013 Kawasaki Ninja 300. 7k miles
• noise, which sounds like a knock on wood or click, happens only after riding for about 5 minutes and only when coming to a complete stop or leaving a completr
•sound goes away after speeding up past 10-15 mph
•nothing feels loose or rattles
•chain and sprocket just replaced and tightened/lubed by mechanic
•can feel it in handlebars
•goes with speed of tires
•Doesn’t make sound when front tire is lifted off ground and hand spun
•no wiggle/give/movement when trying to move front tire to check for loose head bearing. Feels perfect.
•no other sound, resistance, wobbly feeling etc. that sound at that speed is literally the only symptom I’m having.

any help is appreciated guys. My bike is my only form of transportation right now

·
Registered
537 Posts
What is the frequency of the knock/click: is this ONCE per ONE revolution of the wheel?

Could it be some debris/object/stone/imperfection/gouge on the front or back brake pads or brake rotor?

·
Registered
377 Posts
did the sound start right after the new chain and sprocket install?
Even though it sounds like it's in the front, I would check the rear - specifically the chain.

Get the wheel up in the air and spin it. Check your chain slack at 4 positions. Chains and sprockets will sometimes wear unevenly, and the slack will change. You always find the tightest spot to set the slack.

An overly tight chain puts tension on the engine's countershaft, which can cause significant problems.

Just because a mechanic did the work doesn't guarantee it's right.

This video goes over adjustment -

·
Registered
1 Posts