Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you guys sit on your 300 with the kickstand down with full weight on the bike? Does anyone know if this is ruining the kickstand, or if you know the max weight or what. I just feel like the bike is going to come crashing down but I see people doing it all the time. Is our ninja 300 kickstand capable of holding us up on it while we chat??

·
Registered
138 Posts
yes, it would be a poorly designed kickstand if it couldn't hold our full weight. these things are normally designed with safety/engineering factors which is an x amount of overengineered spec for worst case scenarios.

source: i'm an engineer

·
Registered
91 Posts
Whenever I sit on the bike I put the kickstand up, I don't want to run the risk of damaging it. Then again, I don't weigh that much so it probably wouldn't matter...

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yes, it would be a poorly designed kickstand if it couldn't hold our full weight. these things are normally designed with safety/engineering factors which is an x amount of overengineered spec for worst case scenarios.

source: i'm an engineer
As long as I keep on top of maintenance with the bike, this safety/engineering factor should never "wear down" right? And have you payed attention to the kickstand spring? It's like barely hanging on there by the little ridged edge. That worries me... :eek:

*spring comes undone while riding* Left turn to god knows what...

·
Banned
1,037 Posts
As long as I keep on top of maintenance with the bike, this safety/engineering factor should never "wear down" right? And have you payed attention to the kickstand spring? It's like barely hanging on there by the little ridged edge. That worries me... :eek:

You can turn the bike on just the kick stand you setting on it don't mater. If the spring broke as you are riding it wont mater as the most will happen is it drags along bouncing as it hits bumps.

·