Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi every one. It's been couple of months sice I posted something here but I am watching all threads and comments on regular basis and learned many things from all of you.

My 300 is still under 500 miles and I am a beginner so I don't have enough experience, and I have couple of questions to all of you based on what I learned so far.

I live in Chicago and its a Windy City and I have to do lot of effort to make control on my bike and because of that I don't enjoy my ride. Is this normal?

Sometimes my speed is just 40mph and I have to do lot of effort. Do you guys think its normal because it has small engine and it will be resolved if I buy a bigger bike like 650 or 1000cc?

my Last question. It sounds so stupid but let me explain. My head shakes a lot when putting helmet on, and I can't move my head left or right because of wind even riding under 40mph. I have to see straight ahead which is really annoying. I see other bikers on the road riding bigger bikes so comfortably. Wy is that?
Should I upgrade?

Please share your experience regarding the above situation I have..

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,516 Posts
Loosen up on the controls when riding. It's why you feel that you are fighting the bike so hard. Your stiff arms are imputing small steering commands each time your upper body gets buffeted. Also if you seem to be having a hard time in wind, lower your body posture a bit. The taller you sit, the greater effect the wind will have on you. You're like a large lever so the taller you are and the higher the bike's CG, the more effective the wind will be in pushing you around. As far as the helmet is concerned, you're just not used to having your head in an air stream yet. I used to have my head out in 120+mph air streams and it takes a lot more muscle and focus to move your head around. You just need to get used to it.

·
Registered
299 Posts