Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! New rider here. I'm really upset that I just dropped my 2013 bike yesterday. The scenario still plays in my head on what I could've done better. Long story short, I was driving home when a traffic light suddenly changed yellow while a couple feet away from it. Since I was right in front of the police station I squeezed both brakes and the front tire skidded. I went down on the right side with nothing but a bruised knee, deep fairing scratches and a slightly busted confidence. I'm not sure what went wrong, but the bike did have abs. Only thing I could think of is the previous owner said he put on new tires and it rained a bit earlier in the day.
Am I able to get at least the majority of the scratches out with sandpaper and scratchX? And what about the cracks? I read about using abs or fiber glass, but I'm not sure. I've never done any type of bodywork before, but I just can't justify the cost of new fairings, especially since I'm still new. I really appreciate all the help, even if it's just to critique my riding!

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
hey it's demoralizing, I know. something similar happened to me some years ago. I took the wrong turn and realized I was entering a one-way street from the wrong side. the road was empty but it's a place where local cops love to ambush drivers, so I panicked and dropped it. years later my knee still hurts if I kneel sideway (but not otherwise). so basically I hurt myself and dropped my bike because I was scared of the cops. I was never scared of the cops in italy but american cops are crazy...