Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im looking to buy a new bike but Im not sure what to look for. Total noob. Any advice for a first time buyer?

·
Super Moderator
2,614 Posts
Are you truly buying a new bike, or are you going to be buying a used one? If you're looking at used, will you buy it from a dealership or from Criagslist/Facebook Marketplace/a local newspaper?

·
Registered
457 Posts
Since you asked...

First thing to do is to take a basic rider course. Then accumulate all the gear. Then think about what type of riding you want to do and read a ton of reviews and opinions.

Ride dirt bikes if you can. That's the best way to really learn how to handle a cycle.

NEVER buy a brand new cycle as your first. NEVER buy an extended warranty from a cycle shop if you buy from them.

A basic rider course will give you the basics of what you need to know to survive before hitting the street. There's no time for learning how to operate a cycle out on the road.

Depending on your budget, an older Ninja 250 is a good choice, as is a CBR250R and the Ninja 300. Any older used cycle you buy will need a good going-over, maintenance, and most likely new tires - so factor that into your budget along with gear. Used high quality gear is better than new low quality gear. FB or CL usually has good deals on good gear.

·
Registered
164 Posts
JKV hit the nail on the head. If you really want to get into riding and you know you do, that process he said atop his post is THE process to take to accumulate skill, safety, and fun as quickly as possible. I'm already into this, and I still want to get like a 125cc dirt bike just to put around the trails, and learn the ins and outs of traction.

Only thing I'd add to what JKV said is to find a trustworthy riding buddy to help teach you stuff. And not some dude down the street who almost dies weekly, lol.