Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! I got my motorcycle licence back in August and finally got my first back this week. Of course its the Ninja 300, and its stardust white. I love it although I've only taken it out once because its been freezing here in NJ and I'm military and I can't take it on base yet. I plan on commuting on it though most of the winter. Does anyone have any recommended accessories? I need to be able to carry stuff so should I just get a backpack or go for some sort of tank or saddle bag? I'm a complete noob, but I'm learning. I love the look of the stock bike but It seems a lot of people want to change the exhaust and get ride of the reflectors in the back. I get the reflector part although I personally like the look of it. Why change the exhaust? For the noise alone or is it really going to improve performance? I look forward to interacting with everyone!

·
Registered
958 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Most people change the exhaust (or slip-on as it's called) for a slight performance gain, a huge improvement in sound (which is subjective of course) and also the cool factor of having whatever brand of exhaust you think is cool. Be safe :D

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
I've heard amazing things about the ability of heated gear to keep you warm. Probably useful to you since it's cold there.

For carrying stuff, it depends on how much stuff you need to carry. I can usually get away with just a large backpack, but then you also have to think about how it will last in the rain. I have used a large duffel tailbag before for when I really need to carry more stuff or plan to store my gear in it upon arriving at my destination. Figure out how much you need to carry, then look around at different options at an online store to see what might work for you.