Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been shopping for my first street bike (rode MX 125cc most of my life) and decided upon the Ninja 300 for many reasons. But there is a tribe of Harley riding friends pushing that brand. I've only sat on each bike so I have no real knowledge of performance for either one.

I selected the Kawa300 because I like light nimble performance motorcycles and current technology. Something I feel HD is lacking. I feel HD is overpriced with dated technology and mostly selling a brand lifestyle.

Any of you have experience with Harleys and a Ninja 300? How do the characteristic compare and differ?

Thanks
Bill

·
Banned
1,717 Posts
If you have an ounce of racer blood in your body, the Sportster will disappoint you on every level. :cool:

On top of that, all your "biker" friends will bust on you for having a Sportster anyway. Ride what you like.

·
Registered
805 Posts
Depends on what you're really looking for sportsters are awesome the 883 and the forty eight are two of my favorite bikes but with the 300 you get almost 20more mpg on average a bigger gas tank a smoother rider especially at higher speeds the forty eight really shakes a lot and feels not quite stable however they both have way more power than the 300 idk about the dude who made the if ur a racer comment you'll want the 300 cause the forty eight hauls ass also keep in mind a Harley's maintenance cost will be way higher not to mention 4700$ for the 300 vs the 7500 and 10500 sportster cost

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Banned
1,717 Posts
If, like myself, the OP races 125cc MX, the Sportster is a turd compared to the 300. Heavy, slow for its size and lumbering with crap suspension, ergos and steering.

It might be faster than the 300 in a straight line, might be equal, and that will be close. On a good road it will be blown away with riders of equal skill. :cool:

·
Registered
3,516 Posts