Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2016 ex300 and the valves seized up on me after a long ride through the hills. Long story short I changed the cylinder head which came with valves, shims and buckets pre-installed so i pretty much just bolted it on. Pistons looked fine from what I could see but I'm by no means a professional mechanic (just a guy in his garage with a wrench). After everything was put back together i turned the key to "on" and it made a weird clicking noise for about 15-20 seconds. It's never done that before. I changed the starter hoping that would fix it, it didn't. Now I'm realizing the noise is coming from the throttle actuator. I just want to know if I'm on the right path or if I missed something because like I said I'm not a professional nor do I have any specialty tools or non of that. And I'm on a very tight budget (hence why I'm trying to fix it myself). Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Please and thank you.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Hey man,

I recently worked on my 300 motor and did some top end maintenance and new piston rings and all new gaskets. So I may have some advice for you! My bike is running great 2000 miles after that service, and I plan to go to track next month.

Now you said you are no professional. Absolutely not to worry, nor am I. Not even close lol I am in the same boat as you. Couple questions though when you did the work.
-What exactly did you replace/upgrade? Was this an aftermarket head? Or a head with aftermarket parts?
-Did you follow the service manual? It is free on manualslib, and I followed it to a T and my stuff is working great.
-Did you replace the parts recommended when taking these parts apart? Like gaskets, crush washers, ect.
-Were you meticulously clean when assembling the engine parts? There must be as little debris as possible on all engine internals.