Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Banned
1,132 Posts
This is funny
Lane splitting by motorcycles is not illegal in California when done in a safe and prudent manner.
I think they add this so if you do get in a crash they can say you had not been doing it in a safe maner.

· Registered
3,936 Posts
Thanks for the link. :)

It's mostly nothing new. It's been on their sight for YEARS. Although the new part to general motorists IS new and although common sense, needed to be stated out in the open. I have known many people who have told me they would actually try to body check or otherwise try and screw with a biker lane splitting just because they see it as unfair. I then try to explain that there is NO LAW that makes assault with a deadly weapon for someone who isn't attacking you or anyone else legal.

I started riding in Arizona while stationed there and never thought about lane splitting. When I moved back to CA I was wondering why when I was riding behind some people, they would be randomly jerking left and right in the lane ahead of me until I remembered, lane splitting isn't illegal in CA and the guy ahead of me is a "feminine hygiene product" and thought he was stopping me from getting around him.

Be careful out there guys. Never assume that anyone around you knows what they are doing and always assume that if it isn't bolted to the ground, it's out to get you.

· Registered
138 Posts
In So-Cal driving around town- the name of the game is: stay out front, and if you're going to pass, do it fast.

Other vehicles around town actually get out of my way more often than they get in my way. I am starting to think that its because the bike is white and maybe they are thinking I am a cop until i zoom past them. Either that or people in my town are just considerate.