Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, just wanted to introduce myself to the forums. I live in the Westside of Los Angeles (Westwood/Century City area); I'm 26 years old and work two jobs: graphic designer at UCLA (where I graduated), and product advisor at Microsoft Retail. I'll be getting my first motorcycle soon, been thinking about it since last June, did my research, and going to follow the suggestion to start small. I was set on getting a Ninja 250R, but decided to go with the 300 instead, and here's why:

Ever since I was 18, I've always wanted a motorcycle. Recently, I've been planning a road trip to visit my family in Mexico which I haven't seen in over a year and a half, and I want to give them the maximum surprise by showing up on a motorcycle. It's one thing to surprise them by driving a car to Mexico (which I have done, twice), but riding a bike to Mexico is on another level. I guess you could say I like to one-up myself.

The trip will be 3642.8 miles round trip. I'll be starting in LA, heading through Arizona and New Mexico, and crossing in El Paso, Texas. First stop is my cousin and her family in Aguascalientes, Mexico. From there I'll be going to Guadalajara where the bulk of my family lives, and then heading back north making a quick stop in Mazatlan, back to LA, and up to Stockton in northern Cali to visit the last of my family, before heading back down to SoCal. All in all, it should take two weeks.

Given the special circumstances of my trip, I need something reliable that can stand up for such a long distance. Starting with a used bike, which is the general suggestion for newbies (on account of the likelihood of dropping it), is not an option. I need something with no prior history that will hold well to a trip of almost four thousand miles. A couple of months ago I found out about the Ninja 300 and its ridiculously good fuel economy, and I decided this is the way to go.