Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Today I went to one of my local motorcycle dealers and I took a look at Kawasaki's new small adventure bike, the Versys-X300. They had two of them on the showroom floor. One in green and one in a silver/gray.
I live in Arizona and there are a lot of dirt roads here that lead to some interesting destinations. This bike looks like it would be great in easy fire road and smooth dirt trails.
The tank will hold 4.5 gallons of gas and the seat height is lower than anything that is available from anyone else. I don't want ABS for the dirt but it is available if you do. They have fairing guards and hard bags available from the factory and I will bet that there will be a lot of aftermarket companies that will produce mods for this little bike.
I may have to sell one or two of my bikes to get this little beauty but the bike is going to be in my garage for sure. I have some experience with the 300s engine and it's a keeper for me.

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
Not bad but I've been drooling over the BMW G310 GS. Probably a little less power, but more torque and overall built to a higher standard of quality. Sat on one at the Chicago Motorcycle show.

·
Premium Member
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There are a number of things that steer me away from the BMW:

A 2.9 gallon tank
It's a single, and I will take a twin over a single any day. I intend to do light dirt work with no single track.
A top speed of 89mph! Some of the roads that I have to take to get to the good dirt trails are posted at 70mph and folks usually are above that.
The BMW is a quality product but maintenance is very costly if you take your bike to the dealer and I will bet that the GS is a little more complex than the X-300. I can do all the work on my Ninja and I would think that the X-300 would be no different.
The BMW will probably cost more.