Newbie - Short and Afraid - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum
 5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 12:18 PM Thread Starter

Newbie - Short and Afraid

Hi guys!! Newbie here from South Jersey.
I currently own a 2017 Ninja 300 ABS. Only 100 miles on it so it is new in my eyes!

The first mod I planned on doing after getting the bike was to install sliders, unfortunately one bolt was completely bald and could not remove the right fairing. So, very carefully, I started practicing without any sliders. As of today, I've dropped the bike twice...on both sides!!!

Problem #1: I'm short (5'1") and do not feel comfortable at stop lights or signs. I dropped the bike once during a stop due to stalling and my legs were/are not long enough to hold the bike upright. How can I practice to become comfortable with the bike's weight, if I'm barely on my tiptoes?

Problem #2: It is very difficult for me to move the bike while sitting on it, so I always move it while placing all of the weight on my hip and slowly walking it. I've dropped it during this too!! I literally sweat every time I have to move the bike in tight spaces (garage full of boxes)

Any advice for a short rider who is eager to ride?
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 01:09 PM
Veteran

Sorry to hear of your difficulties.

Have you taken a Basic Rider Course? If not, I would. It will teach you many things you need to know when starting out. It's a controlled environment designed for learning - unlike the streets.

The tip-over issues are all about balance. Once the cycle gets past a certain point you (or me) aren't going to be able to stop it from tipping over. Keeping it precisely balanced is the key. Tip toe of one foot should be enough to keep you upright if it's balanced properly.