Advice for bike that has been sitting - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-2015, 03:09 PM Thread Starter

Advice for bike that has been sitting

Hey guys,

So back in February I noticed my bike had a flat front tire. I tried to put air and see if it would hold but a few hours later it was flat again. I was supposed to remove the wheel and go buy a new one, but the weather was pretty bad for a couple of weeks (raining every other day) so I put it off a bit since I wasn't going to be riding much anyways.

Long story short, things got hectic with school and life (I'm in my final semester of engineering and also in an Air Force officer training program) and next thing I know it is April and I have not gotten around to fixing this . I guess I didn't make this a priority and time just passed. So now my bike has been sitting for a little over 2 months. It's been under a cover this whole time and under a roof. As I did not intend for it to sit this long, I did not add fuel stabilizer, do anything to the battery, or anything else I've read you are supposed to do to store a bike. I was fortunate that the tank was almost full (I had only gone 29 miles since fill-up).

I checked to see if the bike would start and it started up just fine. I just let it idle for about 10 minutes and it sounded fine.

Do y'all have any advice or tips on what I should do at this point? Things that could be off or things I should watch out for? Any help would be appreciated and thanks for you time!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-20-2015, 03:46 PM
Veteran

Garage
You may want to check your battery after all. I know it started, but at engine idling speed, the alternator may not have enough output to charge the battery. If you don't start riding soon, the battery will/may continue to drain.
The Following User Says Thank You to mmshiro For This Useful Post:
jpala29 (04-20-2015)