Oil window too full - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 03:13 AM Thread Starter

Is this too much oil?

It’s right where the top of the window ends, so a little over the max line. I bought the bike a week ago and this is how it came- the seller assured me this is where it should be. The manually obvious says differently which I just decided to heed tonight. The bike has seen a decline in performance since I bought it last Friday- engine seems like it’s working too hard while climbing gears at 7 to 8,000 rpms and sometimes will be rev very briefly while hard accelerating as if the clutch were disengaged when it isn’t. Could this be related to there being too much oil? Have I destroyed the engine in a week? I ride it pretty hard and have definitely made some clutching mistakes as I’m a beginner that have undoubtedly been hard on the engine, but nothing insanely bad. I love this bike to no end. This is slightly killing me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FB55F7A2-92DE-4170-96C7-AA5D9682081D_1566112027072.jpg (118.2 KB, 24 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:06 AM
Veteran

Make sure you've checked it properly.

Engine warm, wait 3 min, balanced vertical. Should be between the marks at that time.

If not, get a length of clear hose and siphon some from the oil fill until it's between the marks.

If it is indeed too high, you may have pumped excessive oil into airbox - so check the inside and the filter element.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:11 AM
Veteran

Garage