Is this a bad connecting rod!? Please help! - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 08:35 PM Thread Starter

Is this a bad connecting rod!? Please help!

I recently purchased a 2015 Ninja 300 with 8k miles for $500. The seller said the motor wouldn’t run, but I was willing to take the risk for that price.

I got it home, tossed in a new battery, and tried to turn it over. The bike started right up, but it has a pretty significant knock. It sounds like it is coming from the top of the block, but I can’t be 100% positive.

I’ll post a link to the video of the engine running below in just a minute.

I’m not an expert, but it’s me somewhat mechanically inclined. I do my own brakes (including caliper rebuilds), tires, chains, injector rebuild, etc. on my ‘13 R1 and my wife’s ‘09 R6 That said, I haven’t actually cracked open a motorcycle engine block in the past.

Can someone tell me if this is a bad connecting rod? I know the 2014 ninja 300’s had that issue, but I thought it was fixed in the 2015 and newer models.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 08:39 PM Thread Starter

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 09:20 PM

Based on the sound alone it's kind of impossible to tell exactly what internal part has failed but it's kind of irrelevant as the engine is going to have to come apart no matter what.
It's very unlikely that noise is coming from anything but an internal component however I'd start by pulling the clutch cover and stator cover as well as the valve cover. Turn it over by hand and start diagnosing from there. There's always the possibility something has come loose on the charging or clutch side. Also drain the oil and see what it has to say.
Engines are reasonably inexpensive on eBay. If an internal component such as a rod, piston, crank etc has failed you would probably be better off just swapping the engine. It just depends on how deep you want to go.