Cut-out Problem - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 07:55 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Unhappy Cut-out Problem

Hi everyone, so I've read through some threads of what I thought could be closely related problems, however I feel the need to post my own thread.

The background story:

I am a beginner rider. I bought a used 2015 Ninja 300 30th Anniversary Edition with 19000 km on the clock. The previous owner told me the bike wasn't used much in the last 2 years. Looking at the service history it had only been running 2000 km in the last 2 years since its previous service. I took a knowledgeable friend with me to look at the bike before I bought it. All was well, it ran all okay. Worth mentioning, when we were there, taking a look, it started without a problem. I took it home and started it a couple of times without actually driving it, as I haven't had my drivers or learners license then. Eventually it didn't start anymore. I figured it was because the battery hasn't been properly charged. I removed it, charged it, put it back, and all was well.

The problem:

Here I am, a month later, I have only ridden 2 weeks in total and I am experiencing cut-outs. I initially thought it was just me driving wrong, but now I'm thinking it's a fueling problem.

What happens:

I tested it in the following 2 ways:

1) I approach a stop on speed, brake, pull the clutch, brake, gear down from eg. 4 to 2, brake if needed, release the clutch when I think my speed matches. Sometimes it cuts out when releasing clutch, sometimes it cuts out while gearing down.

2) I approach a stop on speed, brake, pull the clutch, gear one down, use throttle to lift revs, proceed in gear, gear down again, use throttle to match revs, break throttle, stop. Worth mentioning, if I don't blip on each downshift the bike will also sometimes cut out.