Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forums banner

Stock tires aren't THAT bad, are they?

55K views 129 replies 53 participants last post by  vandelvy 
#1 ·
Hi everyone

I've been reading everywhere how shitty the stock irc road winner tires are.
However I've been driving for 5 months now and started the twisties a few weeks ago. I've been leaning almost to the max. (see the chicken strips) and I've never felt unsure about the grip. However I've ordered the Battlax S20 Evo
tires and I'll put them on at the 6000km service (currently at 4.7km)$

Two questions: Does anyone else feel comfortable on the roadwinners? Any pictures of roadwinners with no chicken strips at all?

And to people with other tires, especially the S20 Evo, how big was the difference???

Alex

See less See more
#5 ·
I ran mine to the edge no problems no chicken strips. But I experimented with tire pressures and found what was comfortable for me. I think I ended up at 27 front 28 rear. I just adjusted tire pressure a little at a time and checked cold and hot pressures until I got the build up I was looking for.

#6 ·
I like to be on the best tires I can afford. There's a lot riding on them. Plus, better tires don't just offer better wet/dry grip but faster warm-up time and less unsprung weight, with less rotational mass. This means better acceleration and braking.

Plus, if for some reason a lack of grip contributes to any crash, I personally want peace of mind knowing I had the best tires I could afford. Good, 21st century tires aren't even expensive, especially for our little Ninjas.

Fast people or those who take more risks sometimes make the error of extrapolating their personal skill or risk to the adequacy of sub-par tires, but on-balance, that same rider is better-off with better tires just as they're better off with proper tire inflation, better suspension/proper setup, etc. In other words, Rossi is still faster than all of us on IRCs, but DR2s are still better and for a few reasons mentioned prior.

#33 ·