I am a novice, first bike, engine brake - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By dkw12002
  • 1 Post By IronWarrior

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 11:22 AM Thread Starter

I am a novice, first bike, engine brake

Hi there! this my first post, my name is Enrique i salut everyone on this forum first!

So....i bought a bike, i saw a lot of them, visited many stores and finally decided to get the 300 ninja and i am proud of my choice. I can not have an objetive opinion because havent ride any other bike yet but, the sensation is awesome, 4 month til now of going home-work work-home.

---> Alright so here is my question, may be a little odd tho.....i just love the sound of the engine braking from the 2dn-1st and stop, i do it all the time at low revs and speed, we are talking about 15km/h, the sound its like a jet turbine, the cluth or something. When i am in second pull the clutch lever, change to first and letting out very slowly, first sound like something is catching something very high pitch, then comes the best part that make eargasms on me everytime, the engine braking lol

so guys what you think, i am the only one that likes it? will it comprimise the bike eventually???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-22-2016, 12:22 PM
Seasoned Vet

Normally, it is not advisable to shift from 2nd to 1st without the clutch held in from second to stop. Rarely, at speeds around 10 kph, to get through a very slow corner I will do it, or in stop and go traffic around 10 kph. However, if you are exploiting 1st gear to slow you down from say, above 15 kph instead of just clutching in and braking, its really not necessary or good for your clutch.