3 Weeks Riding + Wheelie = Disaster - Kawasaki Ninja 300 Forum
 24Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 55 (permalink) Old 03-07-2016, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

Garage
3 Weeks Riding + Wheelie = Disaster

I knew it was going to happen, didn't think it was going to be this soon however. I bought my 2014 ninja 300 non abs about 4 weeks ago, and I started riding the same day I got it. No MSF no licence, just me and empty roads. I rode and I rode didn't want to stop, rode in the cold, in the rain, and in the middle of the night. I met some guys from school who also ride and rode with them a couple times. After hitting the highway a couple times perfecting on ramps and off ramps, I got cocky. I wanted to practice going fast, or somewhat fast. I found out that you really cant go that fast in a ninja 300, but I was still having fun. Then arrogance kicked in, and I wanted to practice wheelies and burnouts, so I went to an empty parking lot with no gear on except helmet and started practicing (my philosphy was I wouldn't need gear since I wouldn't be going above 30 MPH) This was like my second time practicing wheelies and I was doing pretty good. Got the wheel up a bunch of time just wanted to hold the wheelie longer( didnt practice pressing rear brake to go down) So I decided I wanted to go higher and for longer so I did. AND I got super high and I held it for a while then (AT THIS MOMENT I REALIZED I F**KED UP) I think the fender scraped and then I fell on my back going like 15-20 mph maybe. My bike flow from underneath and kept going for another 20 feet. I was in shock and someone saw the whole thing and just looked at me. I eventually got up and asked him for help lifting the bike. And then I saw the damage. Rear brake is hanging on by a thread, whole right fairing is scratched and cracked at points and handle bars and exhaust were scratched up. I went to see if the bike would turn on and it did, so i got on to see if it was ridable but it kept leaning towards the right